Solar System Looses a Planet

According to awaited decision of International Astronomical Union, Pluto is no longer a planet and will be classified in a new term “dwarf planet”. The Solar System will now have total of 8 Planets.

Other celestial objects in our Solar System like Ceres and UB313 (Xena) which were highly expected to be declared planets will also remain in the “dwarf planet” category. Pluto’s moon Charon remains without a category and is not classified at the moment.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s